Portway Junior School

'Aim high, do your best and never stop learning'

Home Page


The Local Governing Board of Portway Junior School


The Odyssey Collaborative Trust have chosen to have a Local Governing Board in each of the schools across the MAT. The LGB is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions and ultimately to represent the school community.


The LGB works in close partnership with the Headteacher, staff and the trustees. Whilst the Headteacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such decisions such as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

Local Governing Board meetings

The Local Governing Board has a minimum of six meetings a year to meet and review the progress of the school. The remaining meetings for the 2020/21 academic year are as below:






Nominated Governors

A number of governors are also ‘Nominated Governors’ with responsibilities to review curriculum and other areas of the school’s role. Each nominated governor meets staff in school who are responsible for that area.


Interested in Becoming a Governor

We are often in the need of governors at the school.  If you are interested in finding out more details, please click here to email the Chair. 


Local Governing Board Information

The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The Chair of Governors is Mrs Elizabeth Dark who can be contacted via the school. The Vice Chair is Mr Andrew Ward.


Head of School, Emma Wilkinson, is a member of the LGB by virtue of her position.

The Local Governing Board is made up of nine governors divided into four governor categories


All Governors have full voting rights.

Appointing body

Start and End Date



Attendance – 4 FG meetings in 2019/20

Personal and Pecuniary Interest

declared in 2020/21 including governance at other schools


Subject/Link to Curriculum Area

Membership of Committees

Mrs Elizabeth Dark


Chair of LGB


Co-opted Governor


Local Governing Body

10.4.19 - 9.4.23



Link Governor for Child Protection, Safeguarding, anti-bullying & LAC


Headteacher Appraisal

Miss Emma Wilkinson

Acting Head of School





Employed as Acting Head of School at Portway Junior School



Mr Dave Semararo

Co-opted Governor

Local Governing Body

10.4.19 - 9.4.23



Link Governor for SEND and Numeracy


Headteacher Appraisal

Mr Andrew Ward


Vice-Chair of LGB


Co-opted Governor


Local Governing Body

10.4.19 - 9.4.23


Related by marriage to an employee of Portway Junior School


Finance Committee

Mrs Joanne Barnett

Staff Governor



Elected by Staff

1.4.19 - 31.3.23


Teacher at Portway Junior School




Mr James Flint

Parent Governor


Elected by Parents

3.5.19 - 2.5.23




Finance Committee

Mrs Grace Hoskins

Parent Governor


Elected by Parents

3.5.19 - 2.5.23



Link Governor for Pupil Premium and Quality of Education – including standards, curriculum, behaviour, attendance and assessment



Mr Jeremy Gibson

Co-opted Governor

Local Governing Body

25.5.20 - 24.5.24



Link Governor for Personnel, including HR & Mental Health



Mr Chris Kelly

Co-opted Governor


Local Governing Body

30.6.21 – 29.6.25





Mrs Karen Puszczynska

Headteacher until 31.8.20


By virtue of office








At the meeting held on 10 April 2019, Governors agreed membership of 9 Governors


1 x Headteacher

1 x Staff Governor

4 x Co-opted Governors

2 x Parent Governors


In attendance at LGB meetings are Mr David Blackwell (Executive Head Teacher) and  Miss Amy Mitchell (Office Manager).


The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Sarah Hand



LGB Minutes

The minutes of this academic years LGB meetings can be found below. Minutes of meetings prior to these can be requested under the Freedom of Information Act, by emailing



Meeting Attendance 2020-21

School Money